About CHC

Mission Statement
The Culinary Historians of Canada is an organization that researches, interprets, preserves and celebrates Canada's and Ontario's culinary heritage, which has been shaped by the food traditions of the First Nations peoples and generations of immigrants from all parts of the world. Through programmes, events and publications, CHC educates its members and the public about the foods and beverages of Canada's past. Founded in Ontario in 1994, CHC welcomes new members wherever they live.

CHC board members

The 2009–2011 Board members, from left to right:
Fiona Lucas, Janet Kronick, Maggie Newell, Bob Wildfong,
Angie McKaig, Liz Driver, Amy Scott

(Photograph courtesy of Angie McKaig)

The members of the 2009-11 Executive are:

President: Bob Wildfong 
Vice President: Liz Driver Scott
Past President: Fiona Lucas
Secretary: Marguerite Newell
Treasurer: Amy Scott

Chairs of Committees are:

Newsletter: Fiona Lucas and Janet Kronick
Membership: Amy Scott
Electronic Resources: Angie McKaig
Programme: Liz Driver
Programme, Hamilton: Janet Kronick

Our Newsletter, Culinary Chronicles
From the beginning, CHC has published quarterly newsletters and hosted a variety of events. The newsletter - Culinary Chronicles - has become an important source of information about Canadian food history, and you will find a selection of back issues posted on this web site.

Every year we hold a range of events, from lectures and workshops, to historic meals, behind-the-scenes factory tours, and trips "exploring food history" in Ontario cities and towns. See: Upcoming Events and Past Event reports.

CHC was founded in 1994 by Fiona Lucas, Christine Ritsma, and Bridget Wranich, who directed the association's growth for almost a decade. They attracted a membership that reflects a broad spectrum of skills and expertise in the field of culinary history.

Founders of the Culinary Historians of Canada, from left to right, Christine Ritsma, Bridget Wranich, and Fiona Lucas, in the Thomas Fisher Rare Books Library at the University of Toronto, 8 December 2003. They are examining the only two known copies of The Frugal Housewife's Manual (Toronto: 1840), the first English-language cookbook compiled in Canada. The two copies, owned by the Toronto Reference Library and the Mills Library at McMaster University, are on the table, in the foreground.

In September 2003, on the eve of CHO’s 10th anniversary, members adopted a Constitution and elected its first Executive, for a two-year term.

Founding executive 2003

First executive, 2003 (left to right):
Eva MacDonald (Program), Melanie Garrison (Newsletter),
Fiona Lucas (made Past President because a founding member),
Maggie Newell (Secretary), Liz Driver (President), Bob Wildfong (Treasurer), Amy Scott (Vice President), Elizabeth Nelson-Raffaele (Membership)

In 2006 the membership unanimously adopted a new mission statement that extended the association's interest Canada-wide (see top of this page).

Culinary Historians of Canada Constitution [pdf]

CHC Home

About CHC

Contact us


Upcoming events

Past events


Resources and links

Culinary queries